How successful is your online business? Are you achieving the monetary rewards that you’d hoped to achieve when you set up your Web site?
If not, you may have fallen prey to one of five common misconceptions to achieving success with an online business.
Misconception #1: If you put up a Web site, people will come. Regretfully, this is far from the truth. Competition is fierce on the Internet, and you must learn how to compete in order to have a successful online business. Putting up a Web site is the first step, but doing nothing more will ensure your site’s failure
Misconception #2: Amateur promotion will render professional results. Many people believe that they can purchase a handy dandy software program that will submit their sites to 999 search engines and directories, and their promotion efforts are over. The truth of the matter is, the majority of the traffic to most Web sites comes from the major search engines and directories, so submitting to 990 other ones is simply a waste of time and won’t bring you any success.
Misconception #3: Submitting your site to the major search engines and directories is all you need to do. Wrong. Think of it this way: there are 10 search results per page for most of the engines. Most people won’t go through any more than three pages of search results before giving up and trying another search. So, only the top 30 rankings really matter. If your site is #3,429 out of two million results, how much traffic do you think you’ll get?
Misconception #4: META tags are the key to success with the search engines. Truthfully, very few of the major engines even look at META tags any more. So, sticking META tags on your pages won’t bring you traffic and sales.
Misconception #5: The key to success on the Web is achieving top 10 rankings for keywords
Social Media For Business, Real Estate And Creative Professionals
* "Only connect. . ." E.M. Forster, Howard's End
Showing posts with label SEO. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SEO. Show all posts
Monday, October 10, 2011
Sunday, October 9, 2011
Internet Marketing or What’s That You Said? by June Campbell
Planning an Internet marketing strategy? Will you get the best ROI from a CPA, CPC, PPL, or a hybrid model? And how will you track your CPM and determine your CTR?
HUH?
If you’re new to business and trying to learn how to market on the Internet, your first reaction will be complete bewilderment. Come to think of it, why am I suggesting this happens only to people who are new to business? I’m betting you’d find Fortune 500 CEO’s who don’t know their PPC from their CPA
Egads! And they say government employees talk in acronyms and jargon. They never came up with anything close to what you’ll find on Internet marketing forums and bulletin boards.
Daunting as it is, you’ll need to know this stuff eventually. So, pour yourself a strong cup of something and plow through these definitions:
ROI (Return on Investment)
If your $1000 advertisement results in $1500 in sales, your ROI is $500.
Impression
The number of times a banner or advertisement is served (displayed) on a Website. If 10 people visited the web page containing the banner, you would have 10 impressions. If one person viewed it 10 times, you would still have 10 impressions.
Hit
This is a (poor) method of measuring Website traffic. A hit is registered each time a browser request is made from a web server. If you have a web page containing four graphics, each page display will count as five hits.
Page View
This is a more effective way to measure web traffic. A Page View refers to each time a page is displayed. So, if you have a web page with four graphics, each time the page is displayed counts as one page view but five hits.
Unique Visitors
This is the number of individuals who visit your site in a defined time. If 200 people visit your site this week, that is 200 unique visitors. If one person visits your site 200 times, that is one unique visitor.
Stickiness
This refers to the length of time that a visitor spends at your site over a given period of time, or sometimes to the number of web pages that your visitors typically download.
CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost)
This is the cost of obtaining a new customer. You divide your total acquisition expenses by your total number of new customers. For example, if your $100 ezine ad produces 30 new customers, your CAC is $3.33.
CPM (Cost Per Thousand)
This is an advertising model based on the cost of 1000 impressions of your ezine or web ads. If
Saturday, October 8, 2011
Website Creation and the Eye of the Spider by Scott Buresh
Picture, if you will, a Rocky-style montage. A team is involved in website creation from the ground up. A driving, inspirational song begins. The first scene is a highly contentious meeting, with a sweating and nervous marketing executive frantically drawing away at a whiteboard in front of a hostile audience. Flash to copywriters, fingers cracked and bleeding, churning away at their keyboards. Jump to web designers, sporting blurred eyes rimmed with dark circles, peering into their monitors in obvious discomfort. Finally, we see signs of it all coming together. A beautiful home page briefly appears. The music ends. A bell rings. And…
Nothing happens. The website would seem to have tripped over its own shoelaces and fallen right through the canvas, disappearing into cyberspace. The credits roll, to the eternal shame of those whose names appear.
What went wrong?
The team engaged in website creation without any regard for the role of the search engine spider. You see, there is quite a difference in what is seen by humans on a website and what is seen by a search engine “spider” (a program that routinely combs the Internet indexing websites). There are an untold number of expensive websites out there that are beautiful to behold from a human perspective, yet all but invisible to search engine spiders (and thus searchers), just as there are untold numbers of expensive, beautiful yachts silently and pointlessly resting on the ocean bottom in the Bermuda Triangle.
What follows is a small list of common website elements, broken into two categories: what search engines can see, and what they can not.
Three Things a Search Engine Spider Can’t See
Graphic text – Most professionals involved in website creation take great pride in their work, which is obviously a desired trait. Occasionally, however, this can present problems. When a web designer decides to use text in a graphic form (meaning that the text is actually an image), the search engine spider can not read what that text says. A common reason for a designer to use text in a graphic is because he or she wants to use a rare font that most visitors won’t have on their machines. Another reason is that the designer wants to have absolute control over how the website text renders. When faced with the choice over which kind of text to use, it is important to weigh the aesthetic choice against the potential loss of search engine visibility.
Images – As touched upon above, a search engine spider is not yet able to look at images or pictures and determine what they are (although you can and should attach a tag to them which the spider can read – commonly referred to as an “alt” tag). A spider will skip directly over your logo and masthead, any pictures, and most other graphical elements.
Flash – Search engine spiders will not read through the text in any Flash animation on your site (or any other animation). This does not mean that using Flash elements will render your site invisible; it merely means that you should not count on the text that appears in any Flash animation on your website to be indexed. If the team responsible for your website creation decides to build the entire site in Flash, however, you will encounter unique problems. While some search engines are getting better at trying to index websites built entirely on this platform, it is still an overall rankings killer. If you must have a website created entirely in Flash, it is wise to also have an alternate HTML version for search engines and people who prefer HTML sites.
Three Things a Search Engine Spider Can See
HTML text – A search engine spider relies heavily on HTML text to determine what a web page is about. Spiders, therefore, index HTML text and will even make distinctions between differences in how the text is presented. For example, text that is in a headline or is bolded is assumed to be slightly more important than regular text.
Links – Outgoing links on your pages are easily understood by the spider, especially if they are text links. The wording of these links (or the alt tags attached to them) can, like HTML text, give the spider an idea of what your page is about. However, there are certain types of links that are not easily indexed. If your website creation team embedded your links in a pull-down menu that utilizes JavaScript or other scripting language, most search engine spiders will not see them.
Tags – There are many kinds of tags, but not all are important for search engine optimization. Meta tags include the “keywords” tag, which should list key phrases that describe the page. Another meta tag is the “description” tag, which should be one or two brief sentences that describe the page. Another tag, which is not actually a meta tag, but which has significant importance to search engine rankings, is the “title” tag. This tag contains the words that you will see in the blue bar at the top of your web page.
This list is by no means comprehensive – there are many other attributes that aren’t mentioned in this article. The primary message here is that companies should do their homework before engaging in website creation. There are thousands of resources available on the Internet that can answer your questions about any element you are considering adding before you build (or redesign) your site. Take the time to study each so that you can be sure you aren’t sacrificing your search engine rankings for the sake of something largely unnecessary.
As for the downtrodden website creation team mentioned earlier in the article, let’s remember that Rocky has been known to get beat down in the first fight but then to pull himself up from the floor and triumph in the end. The team will go back into training and eventually understand the Eye of the Spider. Cue the music
Scott Buresh http://www.websitemarketingplan.com/sem/website-spider.htm/
Nothing happens. The website would seem to have tripped over its own shoelaces and fallen right through the canvas, disappearing into cyberspace. The credits roll, to the eternal shame of those whose names appear.
What went wrong?
The team engaged in website creation without any regard for the role of the search engine spider. You see, there is quite a difference in what is seen by humans on a website and what is seen by a search engine “spider” (a program that routinely combs the Internet indexing websites). There are an untold number of expensive websites out there that are beautiful to behold from a human perspective, yet all but invisible to search engine spiders (and thus searchers), just as there are untold numbers of expensive, beautiful yachts silently and pointlessly resting on the ocean bottom in the Bermuda Triangle.
What follows is a small list of common website elements, broken into two categories: what search engines can see, and what they can not.
Three Things a Search Engine Spider Can’t See
Graphic text – Most professionals involved in website creation take great pride in their work, which is obviously a desired trait. Occasionally, however, this can present problems. When a web designer decides to use text in a graphic form (meaning that the text is actually an image), the search engine spider can not read what that text says. A common reason for a designer to use text in a graphic is because he or she wants to use a rare font that most visitors won’t have on their machines. Another reason is that the designer wants to have absolute control over how the website text renders. When faced with the choice over which kind of text to use, it is important to weigh the aesthetic choice against the potential loss of search engine visibility.
Images – As touched upon above, a search engine spider is not yet able to look at images or pictures and determine what they are (although you can and should attach a tag to them which the spider can read – commonly referred to as an “alt” tag). A spider will skip directly over your logo and masthead, any pictures, and most other graphical elements.
Flash – Search engine spiders will not read through the text in any Flash animation on your site (or any other animation). This does not mean that using Flash elements will render your site invisible; it merely means that you should not count on the text that appears in any Flash animation on your website to be indexed. If the team responsible for your website creation decides to build the entire site in Flash, however, you will encounter unique problems. While some search engines are getting better at trying to index websites built entirely on this platform, it is still an overall rankings killer. If you must have a website created entirely in Flash, it is wise to also have an alternate HTML version for search engines and people who prefer HTML sites.
Three Things a Search Engine Spider Can See
HTML text – A search engine spider relies heavily on HTML text to determine what a web page is about. Spiders, therefore, index HTML text and will even make distinctions between differences in how the text is presented. For example, text that is in a headline or is bolded is assumed to be slightly more important than regular text.
Links – Outgoing links on your pages are easily understood by the spider, especially if they are text links. The wording of these links (or the alt tags attached to them) can, like HTML text, give the spider an idea of what your page is about. However, there are certain types of links that are not easily indexed. If your website creation team embedded your links in a pull-down menu that utilizes JavaScript or other scripting language, most search engine spiders will not see them.
Tags – There are many kinds of tags, but not all are important for search engine optimization. Meta tags include the “keywords” tag, which should list key phrases that describe the page. Another meta tag is the “description” tag, which should be one or two brief sentences that describe the page. Another tag, which is not actually a meta tag, but which has significant importance to search engine rankings, is the “title” tag. This tag contains the words that you will see in the blue bar at the top of your web page.
This list is by no means comprehensive – there are many other attributes that aren’t mentioned in this article. The primary message here is that companies should do their homework before engaging in website creation. There are thousands of resources available on the Internet that can answer your questions about any element you are considering adding before you build (or redesign) your site. Take the time to study each so that you can be sure you aren’t sacrificing your search engine rankings for the sake of something largely unnecessary.
As for the downtrodden website creation team mentioned earlier in the article, let’s remember that Rocky has been known to get beat down in the first fight but then to pull himself up from the floor and triumph in the end. The team will go back into training and eventually understand the Eye of the Spider. Cue the music
Scott Buresh http://www.websitemarketingplan.com/sem/website-spider.htm/
Friday, October 7, 2011
Location, Location: Geography in Web Marketing and SEO
When you’re hunting online for a roofer, bicycle repair shop or optometrist, one of the first screening criteria you use when looking at web sites is “Are they nearby?” You want that question answered in the first five seconds after landing on a company’s site.
When you’re hunting online for a roofer, bicycle repair shop or optometrist, one of the first screening criteria you use when looking at web sites is “Are they nearby?” You want that question answered in the first five seconds after landing on a company’s site.
Sounds obvious, right? Yet during my judging of sites for the Webby Awards this year (my eighth time), failing to state clearly and prominently where the business operates is a common error made by architectural firms, real estate developers, a one-state restaurant directory, a regional chain of hospitals, environmental engineers and others.
If you work nationally or internationally, web visitors might not realize that unless you say something like “From our headquarters in St. Cloud, Minnesota, we work with clients throughout North America and Europe.” Or, “Thanks to telephone conference calls and web-based collaboration tools, we can serve you regardless of where you live.”
Specifying your location and service area also helps you rank higher when shoppers search for a provider via geographical words. When you have a location-relevant business, don’t use only one geographical phrase, use many of them.
For instance, let’s suppose you have a pest-control business in Milford, Connecticut and serve customers within a 20-mile radius of your headquarters. One option that would help you come up in web searches would be to list all the towns you service. You could place such a list in a
Thursday, October 6, 2011
Essential SEO Tips and Techniques
Search Engine Optimization is the essential part of internet marketing of the business. If SEO done properly and effectively than it can be prove to be really helpful for the business growth by getting potential clients online.
Because of this reason, before doing search engine optimization on any website it is very necessary to go through some important SEO tips and techniques listed below:
1] Continuous Process: SEO is something which is not a onetime activity. It has to be done to see the effective results and the SEO algorithms keeps on changing so it is very important to keep yourself updated with the latest techniques to carry it effectively.
2] Inbound Links: The most necessary reason of performing SEO activities is to get maximum inbound links from popular sites which will get more visitors landing up to your website. It also gives credibility to your site which helps in improving the website ranking on search engines.
3] Social Bookmarking: It is also an important aspect of SEO by which visitors will feel ease to bookmark your web pages. By this you can then submit your site to different social bookmarking sites too which will give your marketing extra benefits.
Ads by Google
4] Directory Submissions: For effective SEO and for building back links for your site, article directory submission is considered as the best tool for internet marketing. Also website directory submission is a useful method for creating online presence of the business.
5] Site Map Page: To include site map page in your website is very important as it informs search engines about the different web pages on the website which helps them to search for particular page easily and fast.
6] Great and Unique Content: Creating an attractive and unique content for the website is very
Because of this reason, before doing search engine optimization on any website it is very necessary to go through some important SEO tips and techniques listed below:
1] Continuous Process: SEO is something which is not a onetime activity. It has to be done to see the effective results and the SEO algorithms keeps on changing so it is very important to keep yourself updated with the latest techniques to carry it effectively.
2] Inbound Links: The most necessary reason of performing SEO activities is to get maximum inbound links from popular sites which will get more visitors landing up to your website. It also gives credibility to your site which helps in improving the website ranking on search engines.
3] Social Bookmarking: It is also an important aspect of SEO by which visitors will feel ease to bookmark your web pages. By this you can then submit your site to different social bookmarking sites too which will give your marketing extra benefits.
Ads by Google
4] Directory Submissions: For effective SEO and for building back links for your site, article directory submission is considered as the best tool for internet marketing. Also website directory submission is a useful method for creating online presence of the business.
5] Site Map Page: To include site map page in your website is very important as it informs search engines about the different web pages on the website which helps them to search for particular page easily and fast.
6] Great and Unique Content: Creating an attractive and unique content for the website is very
Sunday, October 2, 2011
My Top Six Link Building Strategies For Beginners
In this article I want to cover off back links, what they are, why you need them and how to get them. Now if your just starting out you’ll have heard of these but certainly I know for Sam & I when we first started out in internet marketing there’s so much info to take in, it blows your mind so I thought a brief explanation, beginners guide if you will might be handy, so here goes…
What are Links?
Broadly speaking Links are a ‘link’ between your site and another, so as an example you may find a site in the same niche as you links to you because you are not the same but complementary to one another – that’s the basics. You then get ‘one way links’ & ‘back links’- now stay with me on the detail here because One-Way links are also termed back links.
But the unique thing about one-way links is that they do not return a link to the website linking to them, in other words they are not reciprocal. One-way links convey a message to the search engines that the website is so interesting or useful that the other websites had to tell people about it. One way links are the preferred back link for any website owner, so hold onto the concept as we move on.
How Do You Get a One-Way Link?
One way links are achieved is when your website is deemed to have great information and unique content that other websites believe is worthy enough to be referenced by them and shared elsewhere – hope that’s clear and everyone understands it.
Bear in mind also a website will naturally link to another that has content that will consolidate its own site standing. Here are just a few ways you may be able to get or acquire a one-way link status. They are:
Top Tips for Obtaining Back Links
1. Submitting your site to the major online search engine directories such as Yahoo! and Dmoz.org. When you have your link in these websites, your site value will automatically increase.
2. Submit articles to articles directories. There are so many article directories you can submit your article to which will provide you with a back link to your website. Again, as I’ve commented before, if you are submitting manually, still stick to the key directories – that’s where the traffic and ultimately the links will come from.
You can be sure that if it contains quality content someone will click and link back to you. Also
Saturday, October 1, 2011
How the Buying Cycle Affects Your Keyword Research
Keyword research may be the single most important factor contributing to your online marketing and SEO success. The keywords you select will determine who can and can’t see your site for any given search. Incorporating the right keywords into your content helps increase your online brand presence, drives targeted traffic to your site, affects what search phrases your site ranks for and more. Missing out on important keywords, or putting the wrong keywords on the wrong pages, means missing out on potential clients and customers. If your site isn’t ranking for the right keyword, you might as well be invisible online.
Sites need to choose keywords on a page-by-page basis based on two things. First and foremost, you have to choose keywords that accurately reflect the content on the page. Search engines rank individual pages, not sites as a whole. Secondly, you have to choose keywords based on the intent of your target audience. That is where the buying cycle comes into play.
When a searcher is at the beginning of their buying cycle, they are usually in research mode. They’re just “shopping around,” bouncing from site to site to gather information from numerous sources, which they will use to influence their future purchase. For instance, first time parents might spend a couple weeks researching baby cribs for their new nursery. Who are the big crib manufacturers? How much do their cribs cost? What kind of reviews have their products received? What kind of crib is best for newborns? First time parents have a lot of questions, so they turn to friends, family and the search engines for answers. They might use search phrases like “baby crib styles,” “top rated baby cribs, “nursery furniture” or “nursery design ideas” to get them started. These are informational searches.
Depending on the kind of information someone is looking for, they may or may not be looking to make a quick transition from research to buying. For instance, someone scrolling through Yelp reviews, trying to decide where to eat lunch that day is going to make a quick decision. Someone looking to make a big purchase (like cars, electronics, furniture, etc) might spend more time researching their options.
As consumers move through their buying cycle, then tend to search using more long-tail keywords. Instead of searching for “baby crib,” the first time parents search for “portable folding crib bedding set.” These searchers have a better idea of what they are looking for and are searching for a specific thing. They might search for a company or product by name or include buzz words like “buy” or “order” in their search phrase. As consumers near the end of their buying cycle, your chance for converting them goes up. They are looking to make a final decision.
So what does this all have to do with your keyword research?
You have to decide what kind of visitors you want finding your site, and then put yourself in their
Sunday, September 11, 2011
8 Ways to Optimize Links To Get More Clicks
Whether promoting content on your website, blog, email marketing campaigns, or social media channels, one of your goals is for readers to engage with your content. One primary form of engagement is clicking on links; links to fill out a form, links to download a free eBook, links to product specifications, etc.
These links are your calls-to-action, which aren’t just limited to the “big red button.” If you think about it, every link you create is a call-to-action, since there has to be some reason you’ve linked to some internal or external content. And the more internal links users click on, the greater chance they will become a customer or lead, and lower your bounce rate.
So here are eight easy ways to optimize your links within content to get more clicks:
1. Underline all links
This might seem obvious, as underlined text is commonly recognized as linked text. However, many designers prefer a more sophisticated non-underlined look, so it’s important to make sure your links are obviously links by including the underline.
2. Make links a different color
It’s important to make your links stand out so users know to click on the link, so this is the same principle as underlining your links. You don’t need to use neon colors here; just make links a different color than your regular font color using one of the colors in your design scheme.
3. Bold important links
Bolding every link just looks obnoxious, but if you bold important links within your content, it will attract your readers’ eyes and make it clear that whatever content is behind that link is important.
4. Use relevant and descriptive anchor text
Adding a linked “click here” to your content is simply a wasted SEO opportunity. Instead, delete the “click here” and add the description you’d written before or after it into the link itself. That way, you’ll get the added SEO juice if linking internally, and if not you’ll give your readers a better idea about what they’ll be clicking on.
5. Open external links in a new window
These links are your calls-to-action, which aren’t just limited to the “big red button.” If you think about it, every link you create is a call-to-action, since there has to be some reason you’ve linked to some internal or external content. And the more internal links users click on, the greater chance they will become a customer or lead, and lower your bounce rate.
So here are eight easy ways to optimize your links within content to get more clicks:
1. Underline all links
This might seem obvious, as underlined text is commonly recognized as linked text. However, many designers prefer a more sophisticated non-underlined look, so it’s important to make sure your links are obviously links by including the underline.
2. Make links a different color
It’s important to make your links stand out so users know to click on the link, so this is the same principle as underlining your links. You don’t need to use neon colors here; just make links a different color than your regular font color using one of the colors in your design scheme.
3. Bold important links
Bolding every link just looks obnoxious, but if you bold important links within your content, it will attract your readers’ eyes and make it clear that whatever content is behind that link is important.
4. Use relevant and descriptive anchor text
Adding a linked “click here” to your content is simply a wasted SEO opportunity. Instead, delete the “click here” and add the description you’d written before or after it into the link itself. That way, you’ll get the added SEO juice if linking internally, and if not you’ll give your readers a better idea about what they’ll be clicking on.
5. Open external links in a new window
Friday, September 9, 2011
Getting Good Traffic Flow
Everybody who has an online presence knows the importance of a targeted audience. If you want your site to gather more number of visitors, there are certain steps that you have to take. For starters, the content has to be original and rich. Search engine optimization of content with the right kind of keywords is important, but that does not mean you go berserk with the keywords. Ensure that you write content that is targeted at humans and not at search engines.
The next step is to get your site listed in as many directories as possible. You will be able to get direct traffic from all of the directories that you submit to. It will also improve the popularity of your link. When it comes to Google that is very important. Also make an effort submit your site to as many search engines as possible. Each country has its own regional search engine which is popular there. If you can submit your site to these, it will be more accessible to people around the world who may be interested in the kind of content you have to offer.
Ads by Google
Getting links to your site is very important. The best is to write to the owners of websites that are
The next step is to get your site listed in as many directories as possible. You will be able to get direct traffic from all of the directories that you submit to. It will also improve the popularity of your link. When it comes to Google that is very important. Also make an effort submit your site to as many search engines as possible. Each country has its own regional search engine which is popular there. If you can submit your site to these, it will be more accessible to people around the world who may be interested in the kind of content you have to offer.
Ads by Google
Getting links to your site is very important. The best is to write to the owners of websites that are
Thursday, August 4, 2011
New Facebook Analytics Tool Digs Deeper Than Insights
A webpage owner has seemingly unlimited choice in products that slice and dice information about those who visit his or her page. Real time? Personal? With a heat map? No problem. Facebook page managers, however, don’t have it as easy.
The Google Analytics of Facebook is called “Insights,” and for someone who is dealing with the typical Facebook fan page, it’s a sufficient meat-and-potatoes analysis tool. PageLever, a Y Combinator startup that launched Wednesday, is a more elaborate version of Insights for brands that want to get a bit deeper in their analysis — a group of users that so far includes YouTube, Microsoft, Mint and Kayak.
PageLever shows impressions (any time a story loads in a browser, whether on your page or not) for any date range, not just month or week. It separates unique impressions from repeat impressions so that you can see your true reach, and it shows when and where fans “unliked” your page. You can also look at what type of content — photos, video, text or flash — your audience responds to best.
The Google Analytics of Facebook is called “Insights,” and for someone who is dealing with the typical Facebook fan page, it’s a sufficient meat-and-potatoes analysis tool. PageLever, a Y Combinator startup that launched Wednesday, is a more elaborate version of Insights for brands that want to get a bit deeper in their analysis — a group of users that so far includes YouTube, Microsoft, Mint and Kayak.
PageLever shows impressions (any time a story loads in a browser, whether on your page or not) for any date range, not just month or week. It separates unique impressions from repeat impressions so that you can see your true reach, and it shows when and where fans “unliked” your page. You can also look at what type of content — photos, video, text or flash — your audience responds to best.
Tuesday, July 26, 2011
5 Reasons to Search Engine Optimize (SEO) Your Website
If we had just launched our website, we must go to the second step: get the most visitors! There are several options are available:
• Either we choose to pay using, for example, Google Adwords.
• Either we are interested in free solutions.
Optimizing your website is part of this second solution.
If we go through this article, there are 5 reasons which would be the reason for optimizing your website.
1. The most logical reason is: if you do not make the top 10 or top 20 results, it is as if your site was non-existent. It is rare for a surfer to do research beyond the second page. If this page looks is already very well for you. Only work on the optimization can help you glean places and so you put the top search engines.
2. Target multiple keywords and make sure to rank highly on these keywords is the only way to attract more visitors. It is difficult to accurately predict keywords used by your potential customers. That's why your site should not be frozen at risk of gradually reduce the number of visits. When you set up your optimization strategy, try each week to target a new keyword. After several weeks of work, you may be able to dominate a niche. To improve your credibility, it's a good point.
• Either we choose to pay using, for example, Google Adwords.
• Either we are interested in free solutions.
Optimizing your website is part of this second solution.
If we go through this article, there are 5 reasons which would be the reason for optimizing your website.
1. The most logical reason is: if you do not make the top 10 or top 20 results, it is as if your site was non-existent. It is rare for a surfer to do research beyond the second page. If this page looks is already very well for you. Only work on the optimization can help you glean places and so you put the top search engines.
2. Target multiple keywords and make sure to rank highly on these keywords is the only way to attract more visitors. It is difficult to accurately predict keywords used by your potential customers. That's why your site should not be frozen at risk of gradually reduce the number of visits. When you set up your optimization strategy, try each week to target a new keyword. After several weeks of work, you may be able to dominate a niche. To improve your credibility, it's a good point.
Saturday, July 23, 2011
Search Engines prefers websites with plenty of words
The "experts" in the field say that a page in a website, should not have less than 500 words to have a chance of competing for a place in the Search Engines. This is only 1 aspect of the problem of being visible in the Search Engines of course, but it is a good start.
When you decide how you want your website to look like, keep in mind that design might not be the most important factor, writing enough of copy for the search engines to be able to find you, might be more important.
You need to have a good amount of copy for Google and other Search Engines to pick up what your website is about and what it is that you are offering.
Don't put too much effort in shortening your copy. My clients keep saying to me that people don't want to read too much text. This might be right. So keep the most important information at the top of your website and maybe more outstanding than the rest. However, you need words for the Search Engines.
Try to implement as many headings and sub headings as you think would look good and work with your copy. Google reads them as something very important, so use good keywords for your business.
Text that is bold will also be picked up by the search engines as more important information. Try sometimes to make important word within your copy highlighted if it makes sense.
Link important keywords in your copy to different pages within your website. Links are read by the search engines and they are important.
When you decide how you want your website to look like, keep in mind that design might not be the most important factor, writing enough of copy for the search engines to be able to find you, might be more important.
You need to have a good amount of copy for Google and other Search Engines to pick up what your website is about and what it is that you are offering.
Don't put too much effort in shortening your copy. My clients keep saying to me that people don't want to read too much text. This might be right. So keep the most important information at the top of your website and maybe more outstanding than the rest. However, you need words for the Search Engines.
Try to implement as many headings and sub headings as you think would look good and work with your copy. Google reads them as something very important, so use good keywords for your business.
Text that is bold will also be picked up by the search engines as more important information. Try sometimes to make important word within your copy highlighted if it makes sense.
Link important keywords in your copy to different pages within your website. Links are read by the search engines and they are important.
Thursday, July 21, 2011
How to Attract Social Media Traffic
Are you disappointed that you aren't getting substantial amounts of traffic to your website? You work very hard on creating the very best content you can but the traffic numbers don't seem to be improving. It's always a trickle, never a wave, not even a splash. Well, there's only one reason why this would be the case. You aren't doing enough to drive the traffic yourself. Don't get us wrong. Content is still king but if nobody sees it, it's as good as nothing. And you probably aren't taking full advantage of the power of social media traffic. You see, social media sites are among the most-visited websites on the internet. Millions of people log in to these social sites every single day. If you are not leveraging social traffic, then you are missing out on a lot of opportunities to drive amazing traffic to your website.
Here are some tips on how you should go about in attracting social media traffic towards your site:
- Choose the social media sites that are appropriate to the type or nature of website that you have. First of all, there are numerous popular social media sites out there. Of course you can try to just go and use every single one of them but this is a bad idea. You won't be able to maximize the results you get if you do this. With that said, its best that you focus on just the sites that you can really focus some effort and time on. For instance, you can just focus on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn which are three of the biggest social networking sites as of today.
- For better results on enticing traffic, you must create complete and engaging profiles for you and your business on the social media sites that you chose to use. There's nothing more off-putting scenario at these sites than seeing a user with an incomplete profile. The biggest mistake you can make would be not uploading a professionally-looking profile image or avatar. So always make sure that you fill all the blanks in your profiles. This not only make your profile look great, it also builds trust within the viewers of your profile.
- Participate. This is the most important aspect. You have to be active in the conversations and discussions being made among your circle of contacts.
Social media traffic isn't that hard to get as long as you know which social sites are suited to your website and how to actually use and leverage them for your advantage.
Are you looking for more information regarding social media traffic? Visit http://www.howtosocialtraffic.com today!
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Michael_A._Jenkins
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/6399177
Here are some tips on how you should go about in attracting social media traffic towards your site:
- Choose the social media sites that are appropriate to the type or nature of website that you have. First of all, there are numerous popular social media sites out there. Of course you can try to just go and use every single one of them but this is a bad idea. You won't be able to maximize the results you get if you do this. With that said, its best that you focus on just the sites that you can really focus some effort and time on. For instance, you can just focus on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn which are three of the biggest social networking sites as of today.
- For better results on enticing traffic, you must create complete and engaging profiles for you and your business on the social media sites that you chose to use. There's nothing more off-putting scenario at these sites than seeing a user with an incomplete profile. The biggest mistake you can make would be not uploading a professionally-looking profile image or avatar. So always make sure that you fill all the blanks in your profiles. This not only make your profile look great, it also builds trust within the viewers of your profile.
- Participate. This is the most important aspect. You have to be active in the conversations and discussions being made among your circle of contacts.
Social media traffic isn't that hard to get as long as you know which social sites are suited to your website and how to actually use and leverage them for your advantage.
Are you looking for more information regarding social media traffic? Visit http://www.howtosocialtraffic.com today!
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Michael_A._Jenkins
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/6399177
Tuesday, July 12, 2011
What is SEO ?
The term "SEO" is the abbreviation to Search Engine Optimization. This is not about optimizing search engines, though. It is about optimizing websites for search engines. But why one needs to optimize a website? To answer this question we need to understand what a search engine is.
Search engines as the way to find an info on the web appeared in the middle of 90's. They crawled websites and indexed them in their own databases marking them as having one or another keyword in its content. Thus, when someone put some query in the searchbox of that search engine, it quickly searched its database and found which indexed pages corresponded to that query.
So, the more keywords of a query a website had, the higher it was shown in the results of a search. We don't know who was the first guy realized that he can make some changes to the pages of his website to make it rank higher, but he was truly a diamond!SEOis a technique which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query.
Whenever you enter a query in a search engine and hit 'enter' you get a list of web results that contain that query term. Users normally tend to visit websites that are at the top of this list as they perceive those to be more relevant to the query. If you have ever wondered why some of these websites rank better than the others then you must know that it is because of a powerful web marketing technique called Search Engine Optimization (SEO).
SEO is a technique which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query. SEO thus helps you get traffic from search engines.
This SEO tutorial covers all the necessary information you need to know about Search Engine Optimization - what is it, how does it work and differences
Search engines as the way to find an info on the web appeared in the middle of 90's. They crawled websites and indexed them in their own databases marking them as having one or another keyword in its content. Thus, when someone put some query in the searchbox of that search engine, it quickly searched its database and found which indexed pages corresponded to that query.
So, the more keywords of a query a website had, the higher it was shown in the results of a search. We don't know who was the first guy realized that he can make some changes to the pages of his website to make it rank higher, but he was truly a diamond!SEOis a technique which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query.
Whenever you enter a query in a search engine and hit 'enter' you get a list of web results that contain that query term. Users normally tend to visit websites that are at the top of this list as they perceive those to be more relevant to the query. If you have ever wondered why some of these websites rank better than the others then you must know that it is because of a powerful web marketing technique called Search Engine Optimization (SEO).
SEO is a technique which helps search engines find and rank your site higher than the millions of other sites in response to a search query. SEO thus helps you get traffic from search engines.
This SEO tutorial covers all the necessary information you need to know about Search Engine Optimization - what is it, how does it work and differences
Wednesday, June 8, 2011
4 Unique Ways to Get Traffic to Your Blog from LinkedIn Answers
LinkedIn is a great social network for small and large businesses to reach out to relevant prospective customers. LinkedIn Answers in particular allows you to find people publicly stating that they have a specific problem or need that your product or service would solve. It’s pretty awesome.
What’s even more awesome is that you can get high-quality traffic to your blog from LinkedIn Answers, and get some really qualified leads as well. Here’s what you can do:
1. Create a New Blog Post in Response to a Question
Instead of simply answering the question in full right on LinkedIn Answers, create a remarkable blog post answering that user’s question. Then reply to that question within LinkedIn Answers
with a summary of your answer, and let the user know that you’ve created a detailed and helpful post to answer their question. Something like: “Your question inspired me to write a blog post on the subject, and I’ve provided even deeper analysis over there: (insert link). Let me know if you find it helpful, or if you have any more questions!” Also enter this link in a “Web Resources” field, as you can’t create linkable text within the Answer text field. Going above and beyond will show potential customers that you really do care about helping them.
2. Answer a Question Linking to Relevant Existing Posts
When linking to your own blog within LinkedIn Answers, be careful not to be spammy. Create a new law for yourself: “I am only allowed to link to my blog if I include insightful information in my
What’s even more awesome is that you can get high-quality traffic to your blog from LinkedIn Answers, and get some really qualified leads as well. Here’s what you can do:
1. Create a New Blog Post in Response to a Question
Instead of simply answering the question in full right on LinkedIn Answers, create a remarkable blog post answering that user’s question. Then reply to that question within LinkedIn Answers
with a summary of your answer, and let the user know that you’ve created a detailed and helpful post to answer their question. Something like: “Your question inspired me to write a blog post on the subject, and I’ve provided even deeper analysis over there: (insert link). Let me know if you find it helpful, or if you have any more questions!” Also enter this link in a “Web Resources” field, as you can’t create linkable text within the Answer text field. Going above and beyond will show potential customers that you really do care about helping them.
2. Answer a Question Linking to Relevant Existing Posts
When linking to your own blog within LinkedIn Answers, be careful not to be spammy. Create a new law for yourself: “I am only allowed to link to my blog if I include insightful information in my
Tuesday, May 3, 2011
How to Improve Your Website’s SEO Using LinkedIn
Thanks to DIANA FREEDMAN Ustandout.com 
If you’re planning to use LinkedIn to find job opportunities, optimizing your profile will help you stand out. But did you know that you can also use LinkedIn to improve the SEO of your website or blog?
Here’s how it works: if high ranking websites link to your website, it will improve your website’s page rank, so you’ll appear higher in organic Google searches. LinkedIn profiles have a fairly high Google Page Rank, so if have good profile SEO and link your website to it, your website’s SEO will also improve. I’m not claiming that your page rank will shoot through the roof (you need many, many backlinks for that to happen), but it will help a bit, and if more people click on your LinkedIn profile, they may also click on your website.
These are four simple ways to optimize your profile and your website at once.
1. Create your own permalink
View your profile, and change the custom URL. Change it to your full name, your company name, or targeted keywords if they are still available. You might only want to use the company name if you own the company or know you’re there for the long-haul.
You can gear your LinkedIn permalink toward your website or blog. For example, if dianafreedman had already been taken, I might have chosen dianasocialmedia, dianafreedmanweb20, or dianaustandout. Something that incorporates name + keywords or name + company.
2. Link to your websites using anchor text
Linking to your websites will not only give Linkedin users more insight about you, but you’ll also be improving your websites’ SEO. Anchor text links that contains relevant keywords is something Google looks for when ranking your website. So by using your name, site title, and/or relevant keywords will actually improve your site’s SEO since LinkedIn is already ranked so high.
Instead of listing websites as “My Company” or “My Blog,” choose “Other” so you can choose the name of the link. Make sure that your website links appear on your public profile.
Before:
After:
Monday, April 18, 2011
How To Build Your Website For SEO
Search Engine Optimization is one of the most powerful internet marketing tools. If you like to start an online business, then the first thing that you would want is for many people to visit your site. This can only be possible if the website for the company finds itself as one of the top search results in popular search engines. To achieve this ranking, the website owner needs to take care of several things. Those things required creating a website for SEO is briefly given below:
Ways to build the website:
In general you need nine basic things to build a website for SEO. The information is listed below:
· Think Keywords
The search engine moves slowly through your website and the keyword matches the query that user's search. So the website should have more keywords, which makes SEO read automatically, and it will grade your site for best ranking. Including a copy will also help organize the page better so you don't just have a lot of images mucking up the page.
· Additional content
Once the main pages of your website are designed and have copy written for them, we need to think about what kinds of additional content we can create and where we can put links to that additional content. Part of a good link building strategy in SEO is to create well written content that people will want to naturally link to. Whether it's a ‘how-to' series of pages or an image gallery, make sure the designing of the site in a scalable fashion that can be added-to over time. This additional content will be crawled and indexed by the search engines which will help increasing the SEO rankings and traffic.
· To avoid too much flash
The visual effects in your website look very great. But the content or animated cartoon characters will less in a website. Because the website cannot include keywords in Flash pieces or animated cartoons, then the search engines cannot read them and they are useless to the SEO perspective. The search engines are getting better at reading Flash; however just keep it to a minimum. Most of the users of now-a-days do not like to wait for a Flash piece or images
Ways to build the website:
In general you need nine basic things to build a website for SEO. The information is listed below:
· Think Keywords
The search engine moves slowly through your website and the keyword matches the query that user's search. So the website should have more keywords, which makes SEO read automatically, and it will grade your site for best ranking. Including a copy will also help organize the page better so you don't just have a lot of images mucking up the page.
· Additional content
Once the main pages of your website are designed and have copy written for them, we need to think about what kinds of additional content we can create and where we can put links to that additional content. Part of a good link building strategy in SEO is to create well written content that people will want to naturally link to. Whether it's a ‘how-to' series of pages or an image gallery, make sure the designing of the site in a scalable fashion that can be added-to over time. This additional content will be crawled and indexed by the search engines which will help increasing the SEO rankings and traffic.
· To avoid too much flash
The visual effects in your website look very great. But the content or animated cartoon characters will less in a website. Because the website cannot include keywords in Flash pieces or animated cartoons, then the search engines cannot read them and they are useless to the SEO perspective. The search engines are getting better at reading Flash; however just keep it to a minimum. Most of the users of now-a-days do not like to wait for a Flash piece or images
Monday, April 11, 2011
Keyword optimization and pagerank
The important part of SEO is keyword.The keyword research should be thus done before creating and collecting content for website.For the purpose you can use the keyword research tools.Doing the research on the keywords using the keyword research tools two things shoule be kept in consideration
.
1.The number of time the keyword is searched.
2.The number of website competiting for the same keywords.
1.The number of time the keyword is searched.
2.The number of website competiting for the same keywords.
Use keywords that has maximum number of search.Donot use the the words as the keyword if the competition for that word is very fierce although the number of search is maximum.Use the keywords that has more number of search in search engine and less competition.If the competition for the keyword is less you can easily ranked above in search engine. Thuus the competition should be less to get more number of traffic.The high competitive keywords will not help you get above in saerch engine.
Also give the keywords attractive looks by making it bold or underline it.This has direct influence on tne traffic. The top keyword can directly drive traffic towards your site. It will directly help on getting higher page rank.Analysing the top ranked website can also help for ranking well.Also link your website to the properly ranked website for getting the bettet pagerank. If you get the backlink from the website having pagerank 5 then u are sure to get the rank of 1 or 2.
Also the density of keyword should be considered.Use keyword frequently in your content part. If you use 1000 words then use keyword for at most 10 times.Using keyword greater than this is also not proved good because if keyword is excessively used then google may take it as the spam. Use the key words at the very begining and end of content.This will strengthen your page.It is also good if you include your keyword in your page URL. The maximum traffic of the website is the direct effect of the optimization and research of keywords.Keyword resarch and the traffic and direct influence on the page rank of the site.
If the keyword is resarched prooperly and proper keyword is use then it will drive traffic in lagre amount and thus made diret influence on pagerank of the website.
Read more: http://www.articlesbase.com/social-marketing-articles/keyword-optimization-and-pagerank-4526019.html#ixzz1IaOdk33v
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